Renter’s Rights

Tennessee is a unique state in that it actually has two different sets of Landlord Tenant Laws that apply.  Which law applies to your situation will be determined by the county in which the rental property is located.  

If you live in a county that had more than 75,000 residents as of the 2010 census, you are covered by the Uniform Residential Landlord Tenant Act (URLTA).  Of the 17 counties that WTLS serves, only Madison County is covered by URLTA.  If you live in a county covered by URLTA, more information on your rights can be found in here.

If you live in any other county,  URLTA does not apply.  Instead, the Common Law applies. Details on the Common Law can be found in here.

Si le gustaría descargar una versión de la Ley uniforme de arrendador y arrendatario residenciales de Tennessee que se tradujo al español, haz clic aquí.


For more information or to apply for assistance:

West Tennessee Legal Services

Toll Free: 1-800-372-8346 ext. 1250

Fax: 731-423-2600